You’re Fired…

5 08 2009

3222283853_eb6acc31b2

Photo courtesy of Rob, Rich Tim and Paul gone pro at last!

First, welcome to my new blog! Many of you know me from my previous blog @Risk Living, but here I intend to mark the start of a new chapter in life. The last blog was all about us getting out of debt, and while that is a major part of my life and my purpose there’s much more to explore. In order to live invincibly you need way more than a bunch of zeros in the debt column of your budget! With that in mind this blog will focus on a number of areas: Self-Improvement, Personal Finance, Work/Life Balance, Health/Wellness and Spiritual Insights among other things.

Now, let’s get in to the title of this first post… Ironically, as I’m typing this it is setting in on me that the day I started my previous blog, it was one of the most amazing days of my life! It was the day I was promoted for the third time in less than a year-and-a-half and also the day I reached my career goal of becoming a manager. You can read about it here.

Today though, is still amazing but in a slightly different way. See, today I was fired from my job. Yes, the same job I was so amazed with in that first post. But to tell you the truth, it is in part a relief, in part a shock, and more than anything confirmation that bigger and better things are around the corner for me.

There are many things I could say about how things went down, but in doing so the point would be lost. I started this new blog because change happens. And somewhere along the way over on my other blog I noticed a change in myself. The difference is as simple as the titles of both blogs… @Risk Living vs. Invincible Living.

My philosophy is that we were never destined to STAY at risk. The ultimate goal for my wife and I is to become invincible! To be at risk is a temporary thing, but to become invincible, ah well at that point NOTHING can phase you!

And that is what I find so ironic about what I experienced today. So many things could have phased me but they didn’t. I could have been upset at the fact that I cycled 30 miles to work today to essentially be sent packing but instead I treated the ride back home as a victory lap. I could have been upset about the seemingly impeccable timing of this dismissal (in just over a month my wife and I will be teaching Dave Ramsey’s Financial Peace University for 13 weeks) but instead I’m choosing to think that it adds to my authenticity as a teacher much in the same way as rappers think an arrest lends them street cred lol. Or most of all, I could be mad at the fact that the very day I announce Invincible Living I suddenly find myself MORE AT RISK THAN EVER! I just don’t think it gets more ironic than THAT! lol

But I’m not mad or upset at any of those things. I’m taking this opportunity to at least try to practice what I preach. And in the end that’s all I really want this blog to be about in the first place. I invite you to join me as I try to put it all together and…

Live Invincibly,

@W

Actions

Information

One response

25 08 2009
Lizbeth

What a fabulous post! This blog is the best I’ve seen in forever! Keep up the good work, and God is sure to continue to shower you with blessings…you are truly INVINCIBLE as a child of God!

Leave a Reply

